Ouch – I Pulled a Hamstring and It’s All My Fault!

I seem to be having a string of bad luck lately. In November I fell and twisted my right ankle. In December, I had a minor car accident in which I hurt my left wrist. And now, in class last week, I pulled a hamstring. What the f#@$???

Hamstring sprain or cramps - Running sports injury

While the first two couldn’t be helped, the last one – the pulled hammy – was totally my fault.

I always make sure my clients spend a good 5-10 minutes stretching after each workout, but I rarely do. I’m involved in so much activity right now, that I jump from thing to thing without really taking care of myself properly. This rushing through ish is what caused me to pull my left hamstring. Not stretching after my workouts left me with extremely tight muscles with no flexibility, thus causing the injury.

I know better. I’m so glad my clients do as I say, not as I do because this was a fail on my part and a lesson well learned.

Thankfully it’s only a Grade One pull and I will be able to start triathlon training in a week or so. But take this lesson to heart – your workout isn’t complete until you have completed your stretching routine. Don’t skimp here. If you do, you will only end up hurting yourself, like I did. Take care of your body and it will take care of you.

Yours in recovery,

-Irene

Leave a Reply

