Adjusting To the New

So, to get straight to the point, I haven’t lost anymore weight since I last posted. Actually, I gained and am back to 201. That’s okay, because I know why.

There are a mix of valid reasons and garbage excuses for this –

  1. I moved and am now living by myself, farther away from my daughter. This means I have to get up at 5 am during the week (her father goes to work at 6 and I have to be there before he leaves) and I’ve been taking the last 2 weeks to get used to that new, almost abusive schedule.
  2. Since I am getting up 2 hours earlier every night, I need to make sure I’m in bed between 10 and 11 pm. But since I rarely get home before 8:30, that leaves very little time for cooking, going to the gym, and the basics like Netflix & Chill before I fall asleep.
  3. Getting up at 5 am every morning means that I am not getting early to go to the gym  on Saturday morning – but rather am choosing to sleep in a bit before going to my daughter’s gymnastics class at 10 am.
  4. Losing 2 hours of sleep per night (10 hours per week) means I am much more tired overall than I used to be just a month ago.
  5. My right shoulder hurts after picking up a baby and tossing him around like a rag doll. Apparently my muscles are too old for that shit.

All this means I have to adjust and find a way to get it all in.

My first order of business is to plan my meals ahead of time. Since I am free Saturday afternoon and Sunday, I need to cook, and organize my meals into portions for the week. This will solve 2 problems – I will save money by not buying all my meals out and I will have better control of my food intake.

In addition, I need to not allow plans to do other things stop me from getting at least a good 30-minute workout in. That means I’m going to start scheduling my workouts, like I schedule doctors appointments.

That’s it for now. I’m learning to gather myself and my priorities and to work toward my goals, under new and challenging situations. That’s how success works.

Leave a Reply

