Pushing and Pulling – A Beginners Guide

Push vs pul exercises

Sometimes a person will ask a question that I don’t know the answer to. It’s difficult to admit, but I don’t know everything. Shhh..don’t tell anyone.

Last Wednesday, a young woman on Facebook asked if anyone had a push/pull exercise chart to share. I thought to myself, ‘surely there has to be one on the Interwebs’. The helpful person I am, I looked online in order to find the answer for her, but to my surprise, I couldn’t find one. That’s odd.

Hmmm, now what?

As someone who likes to lift weights, I found this question to be a very smart one. The exercises in such a chart can help with creating workouts containing supersets, subsets, etc and would be INCREDIBLY useful.

So I decided to make one myself.

You might be wondering – what’s a push/pull exercise?

Well I’m glad you asked!

A push exercise is one in which you are pushing weight away from the body, such as a chest press, seated leg press, or a push up.

leg press push exercise

Push Exercises – The Leg Press

A pull exercise – as I’m sure you’ve guessed by now – is one in which you are pulling weight toward the body, like lat pulldowns, hamstring curls, or barbell rows.

upright row pull exercise

Pull Exercise – The Upright/High Row

I’m not going to explain all the benefits of each exercise and why you must do them. Just know that it’s important to work your muscles in variety of ways. You don’t want your body to get used to any one exercise to its important to switch it up.

image

These are pretty basic exercises, all of which have a variety of versions to make them more advanced. The key is to incorporate both PUSH AND pull exercises into your normal routine. You can use whatever type of equipment you want – dumbbells, bands, kettlebell – so you don’t get bored.

So, now that you know, tell me, what is your favorite push or pull exercise?

2 thoughts on “Pushing and Pulling – A Beginners Guide

  1. Shalama Jackson says:

    I have lots of favorites. Since I am really working to build my shoulder caps, I will say my favorite push is shoulder press and it’s pull would be upright rows. What are yours?

    Like

    • bebuffwell says:

      Hi Shalama!

      My favorite pull exercise is probably the Lat Pulldown. I love how it defines the upper back and makes you look bad ass in tank tops. LOL!

      My favorite push exercise is the Barbell Back Squat. All that power building the glutes. 😍

      Thanks for visiting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

