Are You Unconventional?

Yesterday someone close to me called me conventional. Instantly I was offended.

download

Now, the person who said it didn’t mean anything negative by it. Even apologized and gave examples of how awesome I am when I expressed my disdain for that personal description. Yet, it’s interesting how immediately my brain responded to the suggestion that I am like everyone else. Since I left grade school, I’ve not desired to be like the crowd; to be usual; to be boring. Especially, today, I like to think of myself as different – even if just a little bit.

CONVENTIONAL (adjective)

1. conforming or adhering to accepted standards, as of conduct or taste

2. pertaining to convention or general agreement; established by general consent or accepted usage; arbitrarily determined

3. ordinary rather than different or original

I don’t want to be thought of as conventional because I want people to remember me as someone with a unique form of inspiration, and “normal/conventional people are rarely remembered.  So the idea that there might be people out there who think I’m “typical” really discourages me.

unconventional

However, I do realize that all of us have 2 selves – a public self and a private self. The public persona we put out is accepted by all and is most likely deemed reasonable, logical, “normal”. But the private side is probably raunchier, much more eager to tread within some of the degenerate waters that exist in life. How often we dip in varies, but we all do it.

So, after thinking on it, I decided that its time I let more of my private self out. Maybe freeing her from time to time, and letting people see that part of me will inspire others to be more “authentic” in public.

Now, I’m not saying you should walk the streets naked. Unless getting arrested is something you desire, of course. I’m saying, let that inner you out. I promise, the people who don’t mind will welcome you with open arms. And for those who do mind, they don’t matter anyway.

In what ways are you unconventional?

Leave a Reply

