Business Building: Know Your Message

Hey all! Welcome to September. Now that the Summer vacation is over, its time to go back to work. I spent a lot of time the last few months trying to repair my body, which seems to have had complete breakdown this year. Now that I am feeling a little bit better, I wanted to talk to you all about some things.

This post does not only mean a return to blogging for me, but is the start of a season-long series on building a fitness-related business. I just created a career action plan for myself and am now refocusing my efforts on building my business. I am trying to get back into grad school, renew my certifications, and looking to broaden my knowledge overall. I’m checking out new products (reviews to come soon), learning additional routines and finding fresh resources for any new personal training clients I may acquire.

business building

Business Building

There are big changes coming soon and I’d like to become, not only a better trainer and instructor, but a better business person as well. That means I need to learn to brand myself and luckily there were some great tips in this month’s IDEA Fitness Journal on becoming your own PR Agent, which fits right up with what I’m trying to do..

KNOW YOUR MESSAGE

As a health and fitness professional, you are your personal brand, and you know your brand’s message better than anyone else. Communicating this message effectively is what makes your brand stand out., When telling your story, make it interesting and memorable, and be sure your customer will connect with it. Develop your “elevator pitch” early and use it to tell your brand’s story in 30 seconds or less.

This is a FANTASTIC business tip and anyone who is successful knows how important it is. It is also something I need to work on.

As a business owner, you need to know what it is you do, why you are good at it, and what makes your business unique. And what’s more important is you need to be able to explain that to people succinctly. So, what does that mean?

What are your answers to these 5 questions:

  1. What do you do?
  2. Why do you do it?
  3. Why are you good at it?
  4. What makes you unique?
  5. Why you over someone else?

If a business owner can answer these questions quickly and in a way the customer feels good about, then that person is in a great position.

So tell me: Are you are business owner? If so, do you know your message?

2 thoughts on “Business Building: Know Your Message

Leave a Reply

