I’m Back and I’m Finally Listening!

Hey all!

I know, I know – its been quite a while nice posted anything here. I haven been focusing on some personal issues and trying to get myself started back on my fitness regimen.

I have been trying to post some things on my other site, where I focus on my races and race training but having multiple bless is just too much for me right now, so Im going to eventually move all the posts from IreneZee back here. In the meantime, I am just happy to be back in the swing of things.

I have decided that I will no longer be doing half marathons.

Yeah, it was kind of sad to have to make that decision, but I want my body to flourish in the long run, not just for right now. That means I have to listen to my knees and hips which are telling me that long distance running is not for me. As much as I might really want to do it, the struggles I’ve had since I began running in 2008 have proven that I don’t have the body capable for training and racing in multiple half marathons per year.

There, I said it.

And you know what, I’m okay with that. It does not mean I can’t still be awesome. It just means my awesome will be something different. As we age, we have to learn to adjust.

So, from now on I’m going to focus on 4 things – short-medium distance running (10K or less), swimming, biking, and obstacle racing. There is once exception: I still want do the 70.3 Ironman. I’m gonna give myself a couple of years before I even try that though.

2015 has turned out to be a recovery and rebuilding year. Now that my back is 85% better, I’m focusing on getting stronger and losing the weight I’ve gained since I got injured in January. I also have had to accept that my back will NEVER be 100% again.

2016 will be a year of starting again fresh with running. Besides three obstacle races (which is all I’m doing this year), I will be doing three triathlons and six 5k/10k races. Twelve races per year from now on. In an effort to reduce any pressure or strain on my hip and knee, I’m switching from road running to trail running. I’m also doing more yoga and pilates, to help decrease the chance of future injuries.

So there it is, my new plan. Its all about keeping moving. Don’t ever give up on yourself. Ever! You are worth the effort.

-Irene

Leave a Reply

