One Is Enough For Me

image

Going In

Yesterday I woke up at 4:30 in the morning. I took a shower with the surgical soap provided to me at my pre-surgical appointment, then got dressed. I got in the car, drove to Exit 25 on the Northern State Parkway, and checked in to the Women’s Surgical Suite at Long Island Jewish Hospital by 6:15am.

The nurses put me in a heated robe, asked me a bunch of questions, got an IV inserted, and signed the final consent papers. At 7:30 a nurse and my OB/GYN walked me into the operating room. I laid down on the heated gurney, the anesthesiologist put me to sleep while I was in the middle of saying something, and when I awoke 90 minutes later, a new chapter of my life began.

I was no longer able to have children.

Just 2 days before my 40th birthday, I had a bilateral tubal ligation, aka, my tubes tied. I said in December that I had some major changes coming in 2015. Well, this was one of them.

This was a gift to my more mature self. The self that knew eight years ago, when I was pregnant with Olivia, that I wouldn’t have any more children. The self that knew sleepless nights, poopie diapers, and baby vomit were no longer in my forecast. The self that knew one is enough.

One is Enough

Let me digress for a moment and say that in the past few months, I’ve gotten a lot of shit from people, and surprisingly it came from those in the health field. Comments such as:

“Your daughter deserves a sibling.”
“I could never do that, I’m a woman.”
“What are you going to do with your life now?”
“You’re an only child? Oh, that’s what’s wrong with you.”

You’d think I was committing some horrendously sexist crime! Why does someone’s ability or desire to have kids determine how much of a woman they are? And why do I need more than one child (or any children for that matter) to feel complete as a person?

One is enough

Now, I’m not going to turn this into a “Why I had my tubes tied” post. There is no need to. It’s just as simple as I don’t want anymore children. One is enough. Yet, I’ve had to explain the rationale behind my decision to too many people that I feel I shouldn’t have had to. So I’m just going to say this:

No matter who says what, trust that you are doing what’s right for YOU. What others think or feel DOES NOT MATTER. And for those who feel the need to put in their two cents, SHUT UP! No one asked for or wants your opinion.

There. Now that I’ve got that out of the way…back to my story.

Recovery

When I got home from surgery around 10:30am, I was still VERY groggy and felt a little sick. I decided to take a nap to help the rest of the anesthesia burn out of my system. By 1pm I awoke, starving. I said “Screw paleo, I want a burger”. And it was a delicious burger. My belly started cramping at about 4:30 (thankfully my back didn’t hurt at all due to the meds they gave me), and by 7:30 I had to take my first Naproxen. It didn’t really help with the abdominal pain, but it did keep the back pain from my herniated disc away. I pretty much laid in bed watching baseball all day and went to sleep around 10pm.

I awoke today with abdominal and back pain so I took another Naproxen, which got rid of the back pain immediately (YAY). I had to reschedule my PT appointment till next week, since I’m not allowed to lay on my belly right now. And speaking of my belly, its huge. I am fully bloated and look like I am 5 months pregnant (which I have to say is pretty funny, considering). I’ve got varying stages of discomfort, so I’m gonna just rest today. I’m pretty sure my abdomen will feel better by tomorrow morning.

Because I had a urinary catheter during the surgery, I am also taking an antibiotic since I am prone to UTI’s whenever a catheter is used. Don’t want to get an infection.

So that’s the story of me getting my tubes tied. I wanted to share it in case any of you were thinking about doing so in the near future. Any questions, please feel free to ask.

Remember, whatever you decide, be it seven, zero, three, or one is enough, it’s all about your choice. Just take care of you.

4 thoughts on “One Is Enough For Me

  1. Debbie @ Coach Debbie Runs says:

    I’m glad you’re healing well. It is nobody’s business, besides your significant other’s what you do with your body. I had my tubes ties years ago, and I was so happy that I had it done. Once you make the decision that you’ve had enough children, whether it is 0 or 10, why not have it done? No more worries about birth control. Hurray!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

