The 2014 Recap

2014 recap

Photo credit: Sean Pendergrass (click photo for Sean’s photography page)

I don’t know about you, but I am the great analyzer. Several times during the past 12 months, I’ve stopped to see where I am in my goals, making adjustments here and there. But here I am at the end of 2014 with nothing else to accomplish this year. It’s over. And I didn’t do as well as I would have liked. I had 15 goals and completed 6, which means I hit that 40% mark. Not a great outcome, but at least I am that much better off than I was 12 months ago.

Racing

  • Since I joined the 14 in 2014 Challenge, I will be completing 14 races next yearReached on 10/11/2014
  • Be able to run the entire half-marathon distance. (current distance 6 miles)  Reached on 3/22/2014
  • Complete a sub 30-minute 5K. (current PR is 32:45)  Reached on 12/31/2013
  • Complete 2 more triathlons, including my first Olympic distance triathlon.
  • Complete a half-marathon in 2:11:05 or less (10 minute mile pace).
  • Complete a 1.2 mile open water swim in under 32 minutes. 
  • Complete a 50-mile bike ride in under 3 hours.

Physically, I took a turn downhill because of the Plantar Fasciitis and the hip issues. Those are the reasons I didn’t reach my racing goals. It’s not for failure to try. So I am not upset about not reaching those goals at all.

I did, however, complete 4 half marathons toward my 50 Races in 50 States goal. That’s pretty friggin awesome!

Education

  • Renew CPR certification. Completed on 8/19/2014.
  • Earn 2 more certifications.  Completed on 12/21/2014. (TRX & INSANITY.)
  • Complete my MS in Sports and Health Sciences. (2 classes down, 8 to go).

The only reason I didn’t get further along in my studies is because of money. I refuse to take out any more loans, since my college education has so far cost me about $82,000. But this is a very important step for me so I will attempt again once I am financially able to to pay for the expenses out of pocket. Probably in 2016.

Business

  • Work toward some Ambassadorships.  Got SweatPink, Fitfluential, ElevenbyVenus, CityFitGirls, and a couple more.
  • Have at least 6 articles published. Completed 1 article so far.
  • Have at least 15 hours per week for personal training booked consistently.
  • Work at least 10 hours per week teaching Group Fitness classes.
  • Book at least 3 speaking engagements.

I did grow on social media though. I increased my followers on Twitter to 700, Instagram to 235, Facebook to 614, and blog visitors to over 3,000 per month. These numbers may be small, but they are going in the right direction.

No, it’s not a great showing, but I have to tell you, I’m not all that disappointed. Even though this part was under my complete control, I have to admit, laziness took over for much of my business, which is why there wasn’t much growth. However, I did make great strides in meeting people on and offline, and now I am able to narrow down the scope of what I want my business to be.

One of the reasons I failed with some of these goals is because I didn’t put time limits on them. You will see that I changed that with my 2015 goals.

Overall, I’m okay with my year. Not quite what I was hoping for, buy at least I know I am a better fitness instructor and a better personal trainer. I am no longer afraid to say no to jobs that make me uneasy, and I am much more confident in my abilities. That will take me a long way.

Question: How did your 2014 recap turn out? Did you hit your goals? What do you plan to change so you can reach more of your 2015 goals?

Leave a Reply

