Are You Dealing with Plantar Fasciitis?

Plantar Fasciitis

I am gonna break it all down and be honest with you. The second half of my year as a runner has been pretty crappy. Really. It has. While I’ve hit all my races and finished them, I haven’t achieved a lot of my fitness and running PR goals because I’ve been suffering from Plantar Fasciitis (PF) since June. Yes, June.

It’s been incredibly frustrating because I don’t have the type of life that will allow me to just sit back and “rest” my foot for weeks on end. I am a fitness instructor. I teach 2-3 classes a day. Am I not supposed to work?

I’d given the foot the predictable treatments, but after a few weeks, I got inconsistent with it because I wasn’t seeing (feeling) any progress. I tried rolling the foot with a ball and icing it. That didn’t help at all.

So after my last half-marathon on October 11th, I discovered a few things. My left hip is now KILLING me. Also, my knees are bothering me too. What the hell? I understand this is probably because of the PF. I believe I am overcompensating for the PF, which I bet is messing up my running form and causing further problems.

This has got to stop!

Thankfully, there is hope.

A representative from WeckMethod graciously sent me this article and it’s like the skies opened up and the sun poured in. I am to try these tips to heal my PF because this is the first time I’ve seen someone explain HOW to roll your foot or why the kinesiolgy tape works. That’s info I’m hoping makes a difference. I’ll get back to you and let you know. In the meantime, tell me:

Question: If you have had PF, how did you heal it, and how long did it take?

One thought on “Are You Dealing with Plantar Fasciitis?

  1. Patrick Greer says:

    I would also suggest to have calcium rich food to avoid the pain in heel as i have not seen any pain for many days in morning when i had taken calcium tab in the night time. pls. try once and see if this would be helpful or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

