The Backup Plan?

Photo credit: Sean Pendergrass (click photo for Sean’s photography page)

Photo credit: Sean Pendergrass (click photo for Sean’s photography page)

It is Fall, and time for all of us to start working on our plans for 2015. What do we want to accomplish? Where do we want to go? What do we want to change? Yes, all those questions must be asked and answered for us to have s successful goal reaching year. And I love making and reaching goals!

But before you do all that, I want you to stop and ask yourself the following question:

What happens if I get hurt & a doctor says I can’t do my job anymore?

Now, your first reaction is probably something like Wait! What? Excuse me?

That thought had actually never crossed my mind. But recently, a friend asked me that very sobering question and now I can’t stop thinking about it.

What would I do if I could no longer be a Fitness Instructor or Personal Trainer?

I love my job and the idea of not being able to do it makes me incredibly sad. The fact that I am helping people change their lives for the better is what drives me. But it is a very physical job and at any given time something could happen that may force me to choose another way of earning an income.

And what scares me is I don’t have an answer.

Most of us plan for what we want – the wedding, the house, the vacation of a lifetime!

But very few of us plan for what we DON’T want. Which explains why most of us don’t have life insurance, renter’s insurance, or take self-defense classes. We don’t want to be in situations in which we have to use those things.

Yet, 100% of us die, most of us rent at some point, and within your lifetime you have a 15% change of being assaulted. The sun could set on our dreams at any given time.

So my question to you is this:

Do You Have A Career Backup Plan? If so, what is it? If not…

Leave a Reply

