Workout of the Week # 27

Workout of the Week

Are you a gym rat? I am, and not just because I work there. When I am not on the road running or cycling, I am at the pool doing laps or at the rack doing squats.

This week’s workout is gonna make all of you cardio queens quiver in your boots, because today I am taking you to the weight room.

Here’s something that is gonna make those of you who are afraid of muscles freak out – the only way to get that nice round booty is by doing squats or lunges with weights. Seriously, you can do 500 body weight squats a day and you are still not gonna have that J-Lo booty so many of you desire. So you just need to stop being afraid of the rack and try it.

And remember muscle burns fat and helps increases our overall strength. Don’t you want to be that bad ass chick scaling the wall or climbing the rope with ease at the Spartan Race? No? Oh, that’s just me I guess.

Click on the links below for detailed instructions and videos on how to do these exercises with proper form.

Upper Body is done for 4 sets of 8-10 reps with medium to heavy weight.

Core is done for 4 sets of 12-15 reps.

Lower Body is done for 4 sets of 8-10 reps with medium to heavy weight.

That’s 12 exercises. If you are alone in the gym, this would take about 1 hour. If you have to wait for the rack (cause it’s so awesome), who knows.

Question: What was your favorite workout of the week?

16 thoughts on “Workout of the Week # 27

  1. Annmarie says:

    Looks like an awesome workout! My favorite workout is a total body workout (either just body weight or weighted) because I love to feel the burn all over πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    This looks awesome! I am going to have to bail on body pump one of these days and get back to the rack! I love lifting heavy weights! I feel so alive and strong!! I know my passion for weight lifting and my consistency helped me in my obstacle course race this past weekend πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing such a fab routine!

    Like

  3. Diatta @ Femme Fitale Fit Club says:

    Oh I see you are on a mission? I am with you though – I love cardio like the next woman but it isn’t going to take me to that NEXT LEVEL where I want to be ya know? I just can’t wait! Great post. Thanks for stopping by our Workout Wednesday Link Up. #wowlinkup

    Like

  4. The Frugal Exerciser says:

    I worked legs and glutes today also. I did mine on the leg press machine 6 sets of 8 reps with a 3 second pause at the bottom. I also did 4 sets of 12 reps without a pause. I hurt my back so I didn’t do any deadlifts. Visiting from the #wowlinkup

    Like

Leave a Reply

