Friday Instagrab: Weight Loss

On Mother’s day, while I was doing a little closet spring cleaning, I came across a suit I hadn’t worn in quite some time. I pulled it out, checked the tag, and was surprised to see at was a size 14. I didn’t realize I had kept something from my “bigger” days.

Now you have to understand that people tell me I’m thinner all the time. Some have even told me I’m too thin, to stop losing weight. All I say is, “Yeah, but I still have more work to do”.

Sure, I know I am a much smaller version of me. I feel better, and hell, I know I look better. But these pants looked huge. And this was not even my biggest size. I was once a size 1X. I am now a size 8. That means I have dropped 5 dress sizes total. Eh, so what? That’s not a big deal.

Until I decided to try the pants on.

Boy, was that a SHOCKER!

Trying to fit into my pants that are now 3 sizes too big for me.

My mouth hit the floor. For the first time I could finally see myself. I could actually see the physical difference in how much small and more fit I am now, compared to January 2012. It made me tear up a bit.

I had been working so hard to get my physical self in order that I didn’t realize how really far I had come. Look at that muscle definition in my arms. See that there, it’s called a waist! At that moment I was so incredibly happy. No, I’m not done yet. But I am so proud of myself for the differences I’ve already made.

This is NOT a post of me bragging that I lost this weight. Let’s make that clear. It’ more of a realization, not just for myself, but for others as well, that often we can’t see ourselves for what we really are. And when we do, how, incredible a feeling is that.

That’s a feeling I wish on everyone trying to change their life, whatever that change is.

Question: Have you ever been surprised by your own life changes?

8 thoughts on “Friday Instagrab: Weight Loss

  1. Debbie Rodrigues says:

    Congrats on your transformation, Irene!
    I think that in my case it is also related to weight. It was a major checking realized how much I had gained in 8 years living in Belgium, and nowadays, how much fat I have already lost in the past 5 years.

    Like

  2. 262x2 says:

    Congratulations on such a successful weight loss journey! It’s amazing what you can do when you work hard – you look absolutely fabulous! I too, have been there in losing a lot of weight, and the same thing happened to me – I didn’t realize how much weight I actually lost until I tried on an old pair of pants and…WHOOSH! They’d fall right down if I didn’t physically hold them up, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

