May 2014 Fitness Goals Check-In

April was incredibly busy since I ran 4 races this month. Woah! What’s next for May? Well, I haven’t reviewed my fitness goals since January 31st, and when someone posted theirs on April 18th that were so similar to mine, I almost jumped out of my skin. Here we go:

goals 2

  • Complete the 14 in 2014 Challenge.
    • 6 races down – three 5Ks, one 5-miler, an obstacle race, and a half-marathon.
    • 8 races to go. I’m registered for 4 right now – two half-marathons, one 10K, and a mud run.

I’ve been having a lot of fun at my races so far. Other than the Autism Awareness Virtual 5K (which I won’t do again because I hate virtual races even though I received an awesome medal), they’ve all been pretty exciting. From May on, I’m going to focus on longer distance races. The 5K is fun and is a race where I focus on getting faster, but I really need to target 10Ks and above more.

  • Complete 3 triathlons, including my first Olympic distance triathlon

This has been a challenge because triathlons are so expensive and there aren’t any I want to do in NY. I had found 2 in Maryland but they were cancelled because the company folded. ARGH! So here I am still trying to find 3 triathlons I want (and can afford) to do.

  • Build a solid base for the 70.3 triathlon in April 2015.
    • Complete a half-marathon in 2:00:00 or less. (current PR is 2:23:00)
    • Complete a 1.2 mile pool swim in under 32 minutes. (current PR is 33:15 minutes)
    • Complete a 56-mile bike ride in under 3 hours. That’s 18.7 miles per hour on average.

I haven’t commented much on my swimming, but yeah, that portion of my training has started. I really want to sign up with a masters group because I really stink. I can do the distance without issue, I am just turtle slow, my form can’t be all that great, and I need some time practicing in open-water too.

The bike. Well, let’s just say I need the most work on this leg. I am so uncomfortable riding. I feel like a crackhead just pushing the pedals as fast as I can. I need to learn how to climb (stand on the pedals) and to pedal at a higher gear (increased leg strength and stamina). So those are things I’m working on. In all honesty I don’t give myself much time on the bike because I am so scared of getting hit by a car. That’s no way to get my training in. I need a resolution here.

So, as you can see, things are moving forward. I’m getting stronger and faster, just very slowly. I’m trying to avoid any additional injury, while still pushing myself. On top of that I lift weights at least 3 times per week in an effort to increase my core and upper body strength, and I teach fitness classes daily.

I love fitness. I love this life. I can only get better.

Question: How are your goals for 2014 progressing?

ETA: I totally forgot, I’m doing the #plankaday challenge this month. Follow my planing journey on my Instagram page.

7 thoughts on “May 2014 Fitness Goals Check-In

  1. laurenelysecan says:

    Congrats on the progress! I can’t wait to read more about how 70.3 training is going 🙂 I signed up for two races this spring which I just finished and accomplished some of my goals in the weight room. While all helped boost my confidence, I’m looking for a new challenge! Maybe a half-marathon? Or a fast race, short distance?

    Like

  2. Kathryn @ Dancing to Running says:

    I am also striving to complete 14 races this year. So far I’ve completed 5, and I’ll be running my 6th (a 5k) next weekend. I’m registered for race #7 (a half marathon over Labor Day weekend), and have lots of ideas for the other 7 races. I just need to finally choose which ones I want to run!

    Like

    • Irene says:

      I love the 14 in 2014 challenge. I feel like it keeps us motivated, ya know. I like variety, which is why I have so many different things on my schedule (not sure if that’s a good thing or not).

      Like

  3. Laura says:

    Congratulations on your progress for your goals so far!

    I can’t remember all of my goals that I set at the beginning of the year, but they’re taking a back burner at the moment whilst I recover from surgery so I will get back on them when I’m fully healed. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

