Friday Instagrab: Lift Heavy

I posted this pic on Instagram yesterday, during a great legs and abs workout.

As you know, I have really gotten into lifting weights and I post a lot of pics of me in the gym doing just that. I love the feeling of having all of that power in my hands.

Deadlift is up to 115#.

I lift weights 3-4 times per week, in addition to doing cardio 5-6 days per week. I love keeping track of my workouts over at Bodybuilding.com. The site analyzes your workouts and lets you know where you are progessing and not progressing. There’s a great community of bodybuilders too.

When I started lifting, I started off really light, but am slowly creeping up to being able to move some real numbers. Here’s how my lower body has improved, based on 1 Rep Max:

  • Deadlift: March 1 = 118#, April 10 = 143#
  • Barbell Squat: March 1 = 118#, April = 149#
  • Barbell Lunge: March 1 = 81#, April 10 = 124#

I am very careful with my weight increases, only increasing 5# whenever I feel I can handle more. Since I workout alone, I don’t have a spotter, so I am bit afraid of adding anything more. So I wait until I feel strong enough.

Unfortunately, the only thing that has increased in my upper body are the Lat Pulldowns. I’ve gone from 70# to 85#. I need to work on that. My upper body is so weak. This is why I can’t do pull ups yet.

But I am a constant work in progress.

Do you lift weights? What’s your favorite lifting exercise?

Edited to add: I am doing the Spartan Sprint Race at Citifield tomorrow. EEEK!!!

One thought on “Friday Instagrab: Lift Heavy

  1. Tina Muir says:

    Nice job Irene! That picture scares the living daylights out of me, I could never DREAM of lifting that with my puny arms!!! You are a machine, so impressive! Most of my lifting exercises use 12 1/2lb dumbbells, as that is all I can handle, and do not want to add too much bulk in my upper arms as a runner. Interesting read, thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

