Friday Instagrab: Juicing

Hi and welcome!

This is a new feature on the blog that will expand on one or more of my Instagram pics of the week. This one’s all about juicing.

From 3/26/2014 – My favorite green juice: Spinach, Cucumber, Ginger, and Pineapple.

I’m a big fan of juicing for one simple reason, I don’t always eat right. I miss a lot of meals (because I am often just not hungry), but I still recognize the need for healthy nutrition.

I do not buy commercially produced juice. The ones you buy in a jar or carton at the supermarket are almost always going to have sugar added. And if not, they still generally have preservatives. Instead, I prefer to make my own or to head over to one of my NYC favorites like Energy Fuel or Whole Foods and grab a freshly made to order version.

Benefits of juicing:

  • Convenience – ability to travel with you pretty much anywhere without the need of a stack of napkins or floss.
  • Variety – You can mix juices with vegetables which provides for a nearly infinite number of combinations. It can also hep you to try produce that you normally wouldn’t eat.
  • Nutritious – The nutrients in fruit juice can help protect against cardiovascular disease, cancer and inflammatory diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis.

The thing to remember is that nothing replaces whole fruit or vegetables. Nothing. But freshly made juice is the next best thing. So, instead of that Chai Tea Latte from Starbucks (drool…), try for a yummy, healthy juice instead. Come on, your body will love it!

So, go ahead and try it. Test the waters. See what juice becomes your favorite.

Question: Do you juice? What’s your favorite combination?

4 thoughts on “Friday Instagrab: Juicing

    • Irene says:

      Hi Alyson!

      I’d start with going to a place that makes fresh juices. Go for all fruit combos, then branch out to those with veggies. You don’t want to miss out on such deliciousness.

      Like

  1. Yum Yucky says:

    I love to juice! My fav combo is green apple (red is too sweet), spinach, celery, cilantro, parsley and carrots. I have a brand new shiny Breville juicer & everything. I need to get back to growing my favorite combo foods out back. Easy enough to do the cilantro and parsley, at least. Did it last year, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

