Workout of the Week # 23

I live in an apartment in our family’s house in NYC. If you know anything about the size of these places, you know that there is barely room to eat and sleep, nevermind having the space for much of the exercise equipment we’d all love to have at our disposal? Trust me, I’d kill to have a bench and barbell with weights, or even a smith machine in my place, but with the lack of space, and even more pressing, the cost, that’s not gonna happen.

There are so many home workout tools out there, yet we generally stick to dumbbells, kettlebells, or medicine balls for weight because they are small and easy to store. Toss them in the corner of a bedroom or living room and you can pull them out whenever you want to use them. Recently, however, I discovered one awesome tool that is often underutilized, but provides a terrific workout and that is the sandbag.

I purchased the SKLZ Super Sandbag a few months ago and I love it. Reasonably priced at $59.99, it comes with four 10-pound weight bags which allows you to adjust the weight as needed, or they can be used alone. Easily transportable, I use these for personal training as well as my own workouts because of their flexibility of use and the variety the offer for both cardio and strength exercises.

Following is a basic sandbag workout that I’ve done that really gets the body working. Try it and let me know what you think.

Sandbag

AMRAP (as many reps as possible) in 20 minutes.

Have you ever worked out with a sandbag? If so,what’s your favorite exercise? Is there another workout tool you love to use, but isn’t very popular?

Leave a Reply

