Baseball Burpees

If you know one thing about me, it’s that I am a HUGE baseball fan. My team? The Yankees, of course. I tend to go to/watch most, if not all of the 160 regular season (plus spring training) games, but spending 3 hours on my ass drinking beer and eating crap certainly does not fit my lifestyle anymore.

So I created a game for myself, and decided to share it with all of you.

When I watch the Yankees play, I keep track of the pitches the Yankees pitchers throw. At the end of each inning, I do as many burpees as there were pitches were thrown by my Bronx Bombers.

In a really good game, this number can be very low or very high. In a bad game, this number will be very high.

Like yesterday, when Kuroda allowed 4 runs in the first inning. I knew this was going to be a high burpee count day. And it was. By the end of the 9th inning, my boys had tied the game at 7, and we went into “free baseball” for a 10th inning. By the time the game was called, Yankees pitchers had thrown 135 pitches. That equated to 135 burpees.

Woah! Before you faint, trust me when I say this is a very manageable game. A regulation 9-inning baseball game takes approximately 3 hours, so 135 burpees over that time frame is not too bad in reality. That’s approximately 1 burpee every 1.3 minutes.

The whole point of this game is to keep you from sitting down for those 180 minutes. And remember, there are many burpee variation, like the Burpees Clean & Press I did with a sandbag above. What’s cool is that this game works with other sports, such as basketball. In football, you can do a burpee for each yard your team passed or rushed in a quarter. For Nascar, you can do 1 burpee for every lap around the track.

The key here is to keep moving. Don’t let your love of sports keep you on your fat ass.

Question: What other fitness games can you think of doing while watching your favorite team play?

Leave a Reply

