I Heart Crossfit!

On Sunday I finally got to try Crossfit for the second time and my love of it was solidified. There are few workouts that will not only work your ass off (literally), but also allow you to see your body’s deficiencies.

Lifting weights is no joke!

Lifting weights is no joke!

What I Learned

  • My hamstrings are too tight and that is causing me have poor form with many lower body exercises.
  • I have limited ankle mobility which forces my toes out when I am in a deep squat. (This may cause bigger issues, such as increasing rotational torque at the knee. If that’s the case, I understand why I’ve had so many leg problems while running.)

Both of these things can be corrected over time. Practicing some stretching exercises for the hamstrings should affect a positive change over time. Ankle dorsiflexion range-of-motion exercises and stretching should improve mobility in the ankle. In addition, myofascial release (foam rolling) will be required.

I also learned I can do 4 rounds of this WOD in just 6:15.

  • 20 kettlebell swings
  • 10 burpees

That’s pretty darn good if I must say so myself.

What’s great is that a proper Crossfit coach will make sure your form is correct and I need a lot of work on that. I feel strongly that all these physical corrections will help make my running better and reduce the chance of future injuries.

Will I be going back? Hell yes!

Have any of you tried Crossfit? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

