Vega One Shakes – A Product Review

Product Reviews

Disclaimer: I was provided with a free box of Vega One Nutritional Shake in French Vanilla to review. I was not compensated in any other way and the opinions are my own.

I am an athlete. And to the best of my ability, I try to live an athlete’s life. I eat pretty well and I workout almost daily. I compete in events (mostly against myself, but whatever) and am always trying new things. But I am not perfect.

I often find myself skipping breakfast. Not intentionally, but sometimes I just don’t have the time or I am simply sick of typical breakfast foods. I am not alone in that, since I know that many of you don’t eat breakfast either.

I have the bad habit of snacking on sugary items. I’ll admit it. I’m a sugar addict. And being on a paleo diet makes the addiction much more noticeable. I try to eat fruit. I really do. But somehow I often wind up with a Hershey’s with Almond candy bar. I don”t know how that happens.

This needed to stop, so I agreed to take part in Vega One’s #OneChange initiative, and for my participation I received a box of vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packets to try. Vega wants us all to make one small change to our nutritional habits and for me that was limiting my sugar intake. We all have something. Which one are you?

Introducing…

While I do understand that the shakes are processed and contain brown rice protein and stevia, which generally goes against Paleo eating, I was happy that the product contained no soy, gluten, or dairy. Add to that the shakes have 50% of your recommended daily vitamins and mineral intake and this seemed like a winner.

As a fitness professional, runner and triathlete, I not only wanted to explore the flavor, but how this product would make me feel. 10 vanilla packets meant I could try any number of flavor combinations. How did they turn out?

Shake 1: Pineapple Coconut Banana Smoothie

  1. 1 cup of coconut milk
  2. 1 cup of unsweetened pineapple juice
  3. 1 ripe banana
  4. 1 vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packet.
  5. 1 cup of ice

Blend together until smooth. Easy peasy!

My review: this was actually a lot better than I had expected. I am normally not a fan of vanilla shake packets because they leave an awkward aftertaste. Not these. Even the husband liked it (and he hates everything healthy).

The vanilla flavor came through, yet still allowed for the other flavors to be noticed too. I drank this before a run, as a replacement for breakfast and let me tell you, I ran my fastest 6-miler yet. Is that as a result of the shake? I do not know. But I definitely felt energized, even while running in a light rain. I’m giving this one 4-STARS.

Shake 2: Pineapple-Coconut Smoothie

  1. 1 cup of coconut milk
  2. 2 cups of unsweetened pineapple juice
  3. 2 cups of frozen pineapple
  4. 1 vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packet

I drank this one as a replacement for breakfast again and it kept me quite full till lunchtime. While I thought the flavor was incredibly delicious, it was very gritty. Something about the added ingredients this time around did not mask the texture of the shake powder. Then I realized I used banana last time, which provides for creaminess when blended. Something to remember. I’m giving this one 3-STARS.

Shake 3: Mixed-Berry Coconut Smoothie Pops

  1. 1 cup of coconut milk
  2. 1 cup of unsweetened pineapple juice
  3. 2 tbsp of honey
  4. 1 cup of thawed frozen berries (I used strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries)
  5. 1 vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packet.
  6. 1 cup of ice

I have to admit, before I put in the honey,these were pretty unappealing. However, I decided to add the honey and I did something unexpected. I poured the mixture into my frozen Popsicle molds. Let me tell you, the next day they were delicious. Only slightly sweet, they provided me with that sugary treat that I desperately need every day. And, on top of that, they gave me a little boost to get through my workouts. I loved loved loved these! I’m giving these 5-STARS.

Shake 4: Vanilla-Almond Coffee Smoothie

  1. 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  2. 1 cup of brewed coffee
  3. 1 vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packet.
  4. 2 tbsp of honey
  5. 1 cup of ice

I am not much of a coffee drinker so this combination I found interesting. I brewed one dark roast coffee in our Keurig machine, then mixed all the ingredients. The results? The hubby and I drank all of it in about 3 minutes. Seriously, it was so yummy. I went for a 5-mile run after downing this and I got my pace to under 8 minutes per mile for a portion of that run. Yeah, it’s like that! This one gets 4-STARS.

Shake 5: Green Vanilla-Colada Smoothie

  1. 1 cup of coconut milk
  2. 1 cup of unsweetened pineapple juice
  3. 1 cup of fresh pineapple, chopped
  4. 1 cup of kale
  5. 1 cup of baby spinach
  6. 1 vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake packet.
  7. 1 cup of ice

Here I really wanted to test the strength of the vanilla flavor against the harsh bitterness of kale. And to my surprise, the flavor held up incredibly well. I used this as a replacement for breakfast at around 9:30 and it kept me satisfied until my lunch around 2:30 that afternoon. I’m giving this one 3.5-STARS.

Overall, I really liked this product. I stuck with shakes that had 6 easy to find ingredients or less, but in reality, there are an endless number of combinations out there. Almond butter, avocado, chocolate…there are no limits. And that means, there are also no excuses.

So, what is the #OneChange you can make to your nutrition that will make you a healthier person?

3 thoughts on “Vega One Shakes – A Product Review

Leave a Reply

