Contest: Fearless 2014

I want you to stop being afraid. I want you to not allow your fears to control you, limit you, stop you from doing the things you want to do.

You want to run a marathon, but think it’s too hard because you have arthritis? Well 2 months ago I watched some dudes in wheelchairs complete 26.2 miles using nothing but their arms and their determination to be more than what people saw.

You want to do a triathlon, but don’t know how to ride a bike? Learn.

Want to earn a degree, but don’t think you’re too old? Too old to learn? I don’t think so.

This is the year that I want you to live beyond your fears. You are going to face them head on.

You are going to believe in yourself!

What’s my biggest fear? Heights

I am seriously afraid of heights. I don’t like walking over bridges, being in buildings above the 10th floor, looking out of windows over the 6th floor, and most importantly, flying. I hate flying. It terrifies me more than anything else in the world. But I do it once a year to go on vacation. I spend the entire flight praying that we land safely and I keep myself distracted by watching TV. It causes me great anxiety. But I do it. I have to. I am not willing to never see the beautiful waters off Jamaica, or Mexico, or the Dominican Republic, just because I’m afraid that something bad MAY happen.

beach bikini me button

In September I conquered another one of my fears by wearing a bikini for the first time in public. It was LIBERATING!!! I had been so disgusted by my old body and had been working so hard to make it stronger and healthier that I felt it deserved to feel the fresh ocean air. So I did it. And you know what, it was no big deal.

So here I am challenging you to face your fears!

Pick one fear you have (we all have more than one). I want you to take that fear and find a way to face it. It can be a small step, or a big one. But it has to be something that is going to affect the way your fear affects you. If you are afraid of heights, your challenge could be as small as sitting on the balcony of a very tall building, or bungee jumping off a bridge. If you are afraid of snakes, you could go an touch one at a reptile museum or wear one around your neck. If you are afraid of someone touching your feet (AHEM, Raquel), go get a pedicure. Whatever it is, you are now vowing to stop avoiding it, and face it with all the tenacity of a toddler trying to get a cookie out of the cookie jar.

Fearless 2014

If you want to take this challenge and possibly win a GREAT prize, post a comment below. Entry closes next Friday, then the fun will begin. Are you ready to take on your fears in 2014?

One thought on “Contest: Fearless 2014

Leave a Reply

