100th Blog Post and Re-Assessment

Oh I was all gung ho, wasn’t I? I had no issues doing Insanity while training for a half-marathon, did I?

Guess again!

amend reassess banner

After yesterday’s amazing 1-mile swim (my first swim since the Tobay Triathlon on August 24th), I was planning on coming home and doing the next workout of the Insanity program. I felt great. I hung out and rested.

Last night, however, when it was time to go, 2 minutes into the warm up, I felt some pain on the front of my hip. I tried to shake it off, stretch it out, and massage it away, but to no avail. It was there to stay.

After some back and forth with myself, I decided it wasn’t worth the risk and scratched the workout. I did some yoga instead. If I tried to work through the pain, all that would happen is I’d wind up having a long-term hip injury and that was NOT acceptable right now. I miss a workout, so what? Working through soreness is one thing. Working through pain is dangerous. Better to be safe, than sorry.

Today I am taking a full rest day. No workout at all. I still feel the pain in my hip and and gonna give it a reprieve. Also, my shoulders are a bit sore from the mile long swim so they need a break too. I am teaching Cross Training tonight though.

I have to listen to my body if I want to stay healthy. And honestly, 3 tough workout days does warrant a rest day, doesn’t it? And my running training is incredibly important. I have the Celebrate Life Half-Marathon on March 9th and I need to train for that first and foremost. So something had to give. I had to rework my schedule.

This week’s (new) workout schedule:

  • Monday: Insanity Fit Test and 3 mile run (was supposed to be 5 miles, but I had no energy left after Insanity).
  • Tuesday: Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit
  • Wednesday: Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance 1-mile swim/Yoga
  • Thursday: Insanity Cardio Recovery and 4-mile run Yoga/Rest Day
  • Friday: 4-mile run/Yoga
  • Saturday: Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance/Yoga
  • Sunday: 5-mile run/Yoga

What does this reworked schedule mean?

  1. I’ve decided not to schedule Insanity and running on the same day.
  2. I’ve also decided that I MUST incorporate yoga into my daily routine. It will help me eliminate these random aches and pains, and prevent further injury. I use DoYogaWithMe for free yoga video classes.

Insanity will no longer be a 60-day program. With me running 3 days per week, that means Insanity becomes a 3 days per week (instead of the prescribed 6 days per week) cross training program for me. I’m cool with that.

Tell me, have you ever had to rework a fitness plan? How did it make you feel?

Leave a Reply

