The Lonely Road

i-am-alone

In the past few months I’ve learned a lot about myself and came to the self-realization that I have done a 180 as a person.  Well, I still have my vices (blunt honesty and beer), but generally I feel like I’m working toward a better life. The disappointing part of it is that I feel I am alone in my healthy living journey.

Yup.

Alone.

I understand that this major life change I’ve made isn’t for everyone, no matter how much I want it to be. I can’t force people to get to the gym or eat right. Hell, I can’t even get my husband to get on the elliptical machine that we have in the BEDROOM.

I can’t make my family stop smoking or eating excessively.

And I forklift friends off their respective couches.

This is a life that people have to want for themselves. I have to accept that, and stop judging people for the decisions they make in their own lives.

THEIR LIVES.

It’s not so easy for me.

I have been trying to fill my life up with people who share the same healthy living passion. I want to soak up their inspiration. I want to absorb their knowledge of all things fitness. The learning, the sharing, the motivating never ends. And they are a great bunch!

But what about the “others” who no longer fit into that category? At what point do we outgrow the people we’ve grown up with, or those who impede our progress?

EDIT: I will add “judginess” to my list of vices.  😛

What would you do?

2 thoughts on “The Lonely Road

  1. The Jaded NYer says:

    I’m going to act like this has NOTHING to do with ME + MY SOFA and just give my blunt advice, as a friend.

    Just do what I do: go about your business and live your life. If you want to get rid of folks just do it. But a friend is a friend no matter what, and as long as they’re not bringing you down or blocking your progress, there shouldn’t be an issue.

    When I became obsessed with soca music, for example, I made more soca-loving friends and did soca-related things with them instead of trying to shove it down people’s throats. When I decided to take my writing seriously I made more serious-writer friends to do writerly things with without shunning anyone for not penning a novel or being a book geek.

    It is possible to compartmentalize folks. Because let me tell you- while you’re contemplating dumping the folks who aren’t on the same path as you, they’re being turned off by your judginess.

    Now please excuse me while I text Trinidadian love sonnets to my couch…

    Like

Leave a Reply

