No, I’m Not Too Skinny

People tell me all the time how great I am looking these days, and in all honesty, I don’t mind people noticing the changes with my body, seeing all the work I’ve been putting in. The comments usually range from the amazed, to the polite, to the “what did you say to me?”.

Some ask “what’s my secret”. Answer: There is no secret. I eat right (most of the time) and exercise daily (most days).

Then there are those who take it to the next level.

“You’re thin enough. Don’t lose any more weight.” Really, and I mean this with all due respect, but can you please SHUT UP!

Now I don’t know if it’s meant as a compliment, or if it’s a jab from those who don’t really want me to reach my goals, but the truth is my journey is not about being thin. Sickly skinny does not appeal to me in the slightest. My goal is and always has been to be fit and healthy.

Skinny_v.s._Fit

I know I’ve lost a lot of weight. As a matter of fact, as of today I’ve lost 76 pounds. Yet, I still have some weight (fat) to lose based on my body composition. I am only 11 pounds away from my lowest weight 13 years ago, but 13 years-ago I was not healthy. I ate crap, and I didn’t exercise. Back then it was the metabolism of a carefree 20-something year old that kept me in those size 8 Old Navy jeans, even though I had a pretty large muffin top.

muffin top

This time I’m taking it little by little. I haven’t given myself a final goal weight because I don’t know what that number should be. Sure, there are hundreds of websites that will tell me that at 5’9″, I should weigh blah blah blah. But the reality is I want a toned, lean body and there is no number that can predetermine that. So here I am taking it day by day, and week by week, until I am where I want to be.

So I will continue to lose weight (fat) and build muscle until I get the body I want, not the body you think I should have. That doesn’t equate to numbers on the scale, but rather a visual and physical sense that I am where I want to be. And while I appreciate the compliments, please do not assume to know what is best for my body. It is mine and I will work as hard and as long  as I want and I will not apologize.

Leave a Reply

