Surviving Summer

Today is the first day of the year in which the weather has me thinking about indoor workout options. Today is supposed to be in the high 70’s, but that’s not the problem. It’s the humidity which is supposed to be in the 80’s. I don’t like heat or humidity, but humidity is the killer. And I have a run planned for today. I am not a happy camper.

Spring is my favorite season, followed by Fall. But since I live on planet Earth, I have to contend with training and the hellish Summer season. How do I do that?

Well, first off, I do my best to run in the early morning or, preferably, at night. I don’t have much energy in the morning, so I try to wait until the sun goes down before I get out there for some mileage. The challenge is all of my race events are in the morning. *le sigh*

If I have to run during the day, I pick the shadiest areas possible.  Running under the trees or in the shadows of buildings helps with the sun on your back, but does little for the humidity.

Additionally, my clothing gets looser, but avoid cotton which will just absorb sweat. No more compression pants or lycra tops. In warmer weather I wear loose fitting tank tops and capris. Because of that, I also make sure to lather up on the sunscreen. I use SPF 50 or  higher, even though my runs are generally 60 minutes or less. I don’t need a runners tan. LOL! I also avoid anything that is going to cove my head. Since most of our body heat escapes through the top of the head, a hat or scarf is going to impede the release of that extra heat. If you do, you may overheat and that is a TERRIBLE feeling. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

I also make sure to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. I don’t usually take water with me if I am going to be out for less than 60 minutes. I drink plain water before my run, and fruit infused water after my run. If it is going to be over 75 degree during my run, I take my running belt which carries a water bottle. Remember, when you run, your body temperature registers the air 15 degrees higher than the actual temp.

Lastly, if it is just unbearable outside, that’s when I bring my workout to the gym and hop on the treadmill. Yes, I hate that machine, but it definitely has it’s usefulness.

So there it is. That’s how I survive the summer while continuing to workout. What do you do to survive the summer heat?

Leave a Reply

