How Goals Create Success!

What are your goals for 2013?

How about for the summer?

Month?

Heck, what about this week?

Having a goal (or 20) is one of the best ways to not only get started with fitness, but to stay with it. When I started running in 2008, I registered for a 5K because I knew it would keep me training consistently. In 2009, I registered for a triathlon to add some variety to my workouts. To date, it was the best fitness decision I’ve made. After that, it was a half-marathon in 2011 to keep me challenged.

This is how I work best, by training, achieving, evaluating, and then making new goals.

But making goals is not that easy, because you need to evaluate what is important to you, and then verbalize that in a manner that’s going to actually allow you to succeed. To that end, goals must be SMART. For example:

“I’m going to start running.” Nope.

“I am going to run 3 times per week. Better.

“I am going to run 3 times per week for 20 minutes.” Almost there.

I am going to run for 20 minutes, 3 times per week, for 3 months. Perfect!

This will get you started on a plan that will only grow over time. Once you meet a goal, life doesn’t stop. You evaluate and re-issue yourself a new one. And that’s not the end…goals must be tiered.

For example:

My major goal right now is to complete the Half-Ironman triathlon in 2015. How am I going to achieve that?

I went into this Spring knowing that I wanted to start preparing my body for the 2015 Ironman 70.3 in Florida. It took some research, but I was able to find some great training programs. The problem is I need a baseline.

According to most of the Half-Ironman triathlon training programs, in order to just start training, I need to be able to:

  • swim 45 minutes
  • bike 90 minutes
  • run 60 minutes

Well, that was a smack in the face because right now, I know I can swim the time, however I am not sure about the bike and I know I can’t do the run.

And that’s where my current minor goals come in. By October 31st, 2013, I am going to be able to consistently swim for 45 minutes, bike for 90 minutes, and run for 60 minutes. Specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and timely. That’s how you need to roll if you plan on accomplishing ANYTHING in life, not just fitness. And the key – write these goals down! They only exist is they are down on paper.

And if you want to get deep into goal creation, I can tell you that my sub-minor goals are to run 3 days per week following a 10k training program for the next 6 weeks. Next week I will start swimming and biking once per week for 6 weeks.

You see what I did there? I have 3 levels of goals: Major, minor and sub-minor. The smaller goals allow you to reach the bigger ones. This is how we create success. This is how winners work.

So, tell me everyone, what are your major and minor goals?

One thought on “How Goals Create Success!

Leave a Reply

